Electoral Slate -  newly elected society officers

President - Terry Cox-Joseph

President Pro Tem - Derek Kannemeyer

VP South East - Kindra McDonald

VP Northern - Cathy Hailey

VP North Central - David Anthony Sam

VP Central - Joanna Lee

VP Eastern - Kathleen Decker

Treasurer - Talya Chatman



2020 PSV North American Book Award Winners

The Poetry Society of Virginia is honored to announce the winner, finalists, and semi-finalists of the 2020 PSV North American Poetry Book Award. We received numerous outstanding books from 17 different states—from Maine to California, from Florida to Oregon, and various states in between. All entries were carefully read by a panel of judges, and the final decision was made by Henry Hart, Virginia Poet Laureate, 2018-2020.

First Place Winner: American Faith by Maya C. Popa, Sarabande Books


First Finalist: Reenactments by Hai-Dang Phan, Sarabande Books


Second Finalist: Agnostic by Christopher Buckley, Lynxhouse Press


The following (in alphabetical order) were selected as semi-finalists:

The Book of Life by Joseph Campana, Tupelo Press


Searching for Nova Albion by Pamela Cranston, Wipf&Stock; B001JS4XQE%3Fref=dbs_a_mng_rwt_scns_share


Exuberance by Dolores Hayden, Red Hen Press


The Grief of a Happy Life by Christopher Howell, University of Washington Press


American Mythology by Raphael Kosek, Brick Road Poetry Press


The Davids Inside David by Sarah Wetzel, Terrapin Press